Nasus Meus

How wonderful you all have it. Walking around without a care in the world. No soggy tissues bunched up in your hand or your back pocket. No trickle of snot draining slowly, inconveniently slowly, from your swollen sinuses. No cotton mouth from breathing all day long with your jaw agape.

In a nutshell: how wonderful it must be to breathe through your unfettered nose!

I haven’t been able to breathe through my left nostril in going on 7 days now! I’m sick of it! I shove wads of tissue up my nose to make sure that there’s a reason for not breathing through it–because just being clogged up is NOT a good enough reason!

I’ve taken Mucinex, Zyrtek, Zicam, Sinusilam, Claritin, Benadryl, Afrin. The only thing that works to open my passages is Afrin, but all that snorting is getting to my lungs, and you’re only supposed to use it for 3 days! Mucinex made my nose a friggin’ waterfall of mucus, and I figured I might as well just go to bed on a towel as miserable as I was with the uncontrolled leakage coming through my face. And the other stuff worked for 2 days then quit. Benadryl of course just made me go to sleep, so that’s not really a solution.

“I want to breathe like you-hoo-hoo! Whatsamatta with me-hee-hee? Why can’t I learn to be, like someone, like you-hoo-hoo!”

Leave a Reply

