Arts and Entertainment Conquers All!


Recently there’s been a lot more open and honest discussion in my head about arts and entertainment and the awesomeness the sub-genre of televised entertainment comprises. It’s omnipresent in the developed world, particularly televised entertainment and particularly along the coastlines of America I hypothesize, and it’s just about all we do as Americans–or at least this American gal.

But it’s not really just me and the people in my head; everyone loves film here. Every one of us has a favorite action film, favorite art-house film, favorite smutty film, favorite nostalgic film, favorite thriller–films we love because of the music, the cinematography, the mind-f*ck, the themes, the envelope-pushing, the director, and–dare I say?–the actor (for shame, I know!). I, for one, just can’t get enough of them anymore. It probably has something to do with the fact that I’m newly on hiatus from the bonds of daily travail (such a nice way of saying ‘unemployed’, eh?), but I must admit it’s been festering beneath the surface for quite some time. Since forever truthfully.

And so, in an effort to rub out the value of this fixation, I decided to regurgitate and analyze everything I’ve ever loved in the A&E arena–but got stuck at step 1. How do I do this? Make a collage? Make an Excel spreadsheet? Make a list? The three of those could be crunched together so I immediately set out to do so, but I found that after my first attempt, 5 entries it was too much of a to-do, so I Googled Nicki Minaj’s as–whoa, whoa, whoa, wait a minute. No, I Googled ‘thought delineation program’ and came up with ‘thought mapping’ (thanks Google!), and the search for a freebie began.

‘Thought mapping’ brought up an interesting [read: free] program developed by Tufts University called VUE (Visual Understanding Environment) that’s one of several visual thought mapping apps available to the general public at no cost. So in order to get a better handle on the scope of things with regard to my love of A&E, I downloaded it and rushed headlong my thought mapping endeavor. I must admit that after just two nights of entries this map has gone all over the place. There are links I’ve found in my head that connect music with books, philosophy with directors, actors with writers, psychologies with zoological phylum–it’s insanity and I may need to commit myself for a few weeks when this is over.

But in spite of my Gordian knot of connections, I’m looking forward to coming to a sort of denouement so that I can stand back and ascertain some sort of over-arching pattern to it all. And since it’s a composite of all sorts of elements of A&E, it’s also a veritable body of information, it’s own little universe–something I find very much 3D in nature and very much alive. Once I’ve come a little closer to knowing that pattern, knowing the scope and dimensions of the “body” of A&E, I hope I’ll have come closer to the focus and the locus of my future career in it. Because we have to do what we love, right? And there’s nothing like A&E–at least not for me.

There you have it: A&E conquers all.

Leave a Reply

